Independent research. A clearer software perspective.
Business SoftwareConsensus Index

PROVIDER FIT REVIEWMarketing Automation & Email Marketing Software

Moosend Review: Small Business Marketing Automation

Moosend is a good fit for a small business buying its first email marketing platform, with $9 per month Pro pricing for 500 subscribers.

STUDY SNAPSHOTRecorded recommendations · not product testing
Research date
October 1, 2026
Usable AI responses
7
Consensus position
#8
Source URLs in evidence
67

RECOMMENDATION COVERAGE

Moosend

Recommended by 3 of 7 AI platforms in this study.

42.9%Consensus coverage · not a customer rating

The research in brief

Moosend is a good fit for a small United States business buying its first serious email marketing platform, provided the buyer verifies current pricing, plan packaging, and cancellation terms before committing. Three of seven platforms named Moosend during the ranking stage (Claude, Gemini, Perplexity), with an average listed rank of 5.0 and a best rank of 3. Its strongest case is the Moosend Pro Plan: a published starting price of $9 per month for up to 500 subscribers with unlimited campaign sends, visual automation workflows, segmentation, templates, and live chat support. The main limitation is that transactional email, a permanent free plan, and independently verified deliverability benchmarks are not established in the reviewed evidence.

Research Snapshot

FieldFinding
Platform mentions in ranking stage3 of 7 platforms (Claude, Gemini, Perplexity)
Share of included platform responses42.9%
Average listed rank5.0
Best listed rank3 (Gemini)
Software offeringMoosend Pro Plan; 30-day trial; pay-as-you-go email credits
Overall use-case fitGood, with verification conditions
Research date2026-10-01

Why Moosend Qualified for This Study

Questions explored

  • Why did Moosend qualify for a small business email marketing platform comparison?
  • Is Moosend worth shortlisting for a first email marketing purchase under 50 employees?

Moosend qualified because it was named by three of the seven platforms during ranking discovery and because its published entry pricing and feature set map directly onto the study's criteria: ease of use, pricing for small lists, template quality, basic automation workflows, customer support, and deliverability [5].

The platform's own material states that paid plans start at $9 per month for up to 500 subscribers with unlimited emails, and one company article states $7 per month with annual billing [5]. Independent pricing reviews repeat the $9 monthly and roughly $7 annual figures at the 500-contact tier [36].

Moosend also cleared the study's minimum-mention threshold of two platforms. It was not a unanimous pick, and its average listed rank of 5.0 places it mid-pack rather than at the top of the ranking stage.

The software offering in focus

Questions explored

  • Which Moosend plan should a small business choose for a first email marketing platform?
  • Does the Moosend Pro Plan include automation and unlimited sends at the $9 per month tier?

The Moosend Pro Plan is the product most relevant to this use case. It is the plan named by every platform that supplied a relevant product or plan, and it is the tier the published $9-per-month entry price refers to [5].

Pro is described across sources as including unlimited email sends, a drag-and-drop editor, templates, landing pages, subscription forms, segmentation, A/B testing, reporting, and an SMTP server [65]. Automation is included on paid plans rather than gated behind a premium tier, according to independent reviews [65].

Plan naming is not fully consistent across public material. Some Moosend pages and third-party sources reference both a Pro plan and a Starter plan, with one company blog page stating Pro starts at $9 per month and Starter starts at $19 per month [6]. Current Moosend documentation describes Pro and Enterprise subscriptions, and the current United States availability and meaning of a Starter Plan are unclear [12]. Buyers should confirm which plan names are active at checkout.

A 30-day free trial is described in the reviewed evidence, with no credit card required according to one independent review [28].

What the AI Platforms Agreed About

Questions explored

  • What do AI platforms agree Moosend does well for small business email marketing?
  • Is Moosend considered easy to use and affordable for small lists across AI platform research?

Agreement was strong but not unanimous on four points: low entry pricing, ease of use, included automation, and unlimited sends on paid plans.

On pricing, multiple platforms independently reported the same $9-per-month starting figure for 500 contacts, with a roughly 20% annual discount bringing the effective rate to about $7 per month [36]. Moosend's own pricing page confirms 15% off biannual and 20% off annual plans, plus a 25% nonprofit discount stackable on the annual discount [11].

On ease of use, independent reviewers describe the drag-and-drop editor as intuitive, with one reviewer reporting a first campaign built in about 15 minutes without tutorials [56]. A visual workflow builder with color-coded steps was also described as well designed [59].

On automation, reviewers counted 32 automation triggers and 18 or more ready-made workflow templates covering welcome series, cart abandonment, birthday emails, and win-back campaigns [59]. Moosend's own documentation describes trigger-based workflows, automation recipes, cart abandonment, product recommendations, order notifications, and post-purchase follow-up [3].

On support, live chat was consistently rated higher than email support, with one review calling it among the most responsive at this price tier [65].

Where the AI Platforms Disagreed or Were Uncertain

Questions explored

  • How reliable is Moosend's deliverability for a small business sender, based on independent testing?
  • Is Moosend's refund and cancellation policy clear enough to commit to an annual plan?

Deliverability produced the sharpest conflict. Moosend states it can guarantee a 98% delivery rate [7]. Independent testing tells a different story: one deliverability report scored Moosend 92/100 overall while separately reporting that 77.62% of 63,929 tracked emails reached the main mailbox and 20.63% landed in spam [26]. Another review cites Email Tool Tester data placing Moosend around 86–90% [21]. These figures may reflect different test conditions, list quality, or time periods, and the reviewed evidence does not reconcile them. No current independent inbox-placement benchmark sufficient to guarantee performance for a particular sender was verified.

Refund terms are also unresolved. One source reports Moosend does not publish a refund policy or money-back guarantee window on its pricing page or billing documentation [33]. Another source claims a 30-day money-back guarantee on annual plans with email thresholds [18]. These claims conflict and neither was confirmed in official text. Separately, multiple user reports describe auto-renewal charges without notice and refused refunds after cancellation requests [24]. One review notes cancellation is straightforward and the account pauses rather than deletes, preserving contacts and history [33], while another states data is retained 90 days after cancellation and then permanently deleted [18].

Support quality post-acquisition is mixed. Moosend was acquired by Constant Contact, and one review reports support quality declined after the acquisition while live chat remained responsive [66]. Another platform's research describes Moosend as acquired by Sitecore in 2021 and still operating as a standalone product [32]. These ownership accounts conflict and the reviewed evidence does not resolve which is current.

Account suspension risk is reported but not quantified. Some reviewers describe accounts suspended or terminated for high bounce rates or compliance concerns without prior warning, and some legitimate businesses reportedly denied service before sending a campaign [24]. Other users report no such problems. The frequency of this outcome is not established in the reviewed evidence.

Features for this workload

Questions explored

  • Does Moosend include the automation, templates, and segmentation a small business needs without upgrading?
  • Can Moosend handle transactional emails like order confirmations on the Pro plan?

Moosend covers the core small-business email marketing feature set on its paid plans, with one significant gap.

CapabilityEvidence
Drag-and-drop editorDescribed as intuitive; first campaign built in about 15 minutes without tutorials [56]
Templates110+ to 130+ responsive templates depending on the page; counts conflict across Moosend's own pages [8]
Automation32 triggers, 18+ ready-made recipes, visual workflow builder [59]
SegmentationBehavior, demographics, purchase history, and custom fields on Pro plans [32]
Landing pages and formsIncluded on all plans; described as basic compared with dedicated tools [32]
A/B testing and reportingIncluded per company feature pages [9]
Transactional emailNot included on Pro; requires custom-priced Moosend+ or Enterprise [65]
Team seatsPro plan capped at 5 members including the owner [43]
Native integrationsAround 80+, fewer than larger competitors; niche stacks may need Zapier [47]

Template quality drew mixed independent feedback. One reviewer called the templates clean and modern-looking [59], while another wished for more non-e-commerce variety [54]. HTML and CSS access is described as more restricted than Mailchimp or ActiveCampaign [53].

The transactional email gap is the most consequential limitation for e-commerce buyers. Order confirmations, password resets, and shipping notifications are not included on the Pro plan and require the custom-priced Moosend+ tier with a transactional add-on or an Enterprise package [65].

Pricing, renewal terms, and ongoing costs

Questions explored

  • How much does Moosend Pro cost per month at 500, 1,000, and 5,000 contacts?
  • Are there setup fees, overage charges, or cancellation penalties with Moosend?

Moosend uses contact-based subscription pricing with no per-send charges and no setup fees reported in the reviewed evidence [23].

ContactsMonthly billingAnnual billing (approx.)
500
$9/month
~$7/month
1,000
$16/month
Not stated in reviewed sources
2,000
$24/month
Not stated in reviewed sources
5,000
$48/month
Not stated in reviewed sources
10,000
$88/month
Not stated in reviewed sources

Monthly figures come from independent pricing reviews [36]. Moosend's own pricing page confirms 15% off biannual and 20% off annual billing, plus a 25% nonprofit discount stackable on the annual discount [11]. One company article states $7 per month with annual billing [5].

Pay-as-you-go email credits are available for occasional senders. Moosend's pricing page displays credit bundles including 350,000 credits for $350, 500,000 for $500, 750,000 for $750, and 1,000,000 for $1,000, and states credits never expire [12]. One credit equals one email to one recipient, and usage beyond a plan's subscriber allowance can consume credits [2]. The smallest displayed bundle may be excessive for a business sending infrequently, and the retrieved pricing page used a regional URL that may not reflect current United States checkout pricing [12].

Cancellation terms are partially documented. Moosend states monthly plans can be canceled anytime and users can downgrade if their list shrinks, with changes taking effect at the end of the current billing cycle [11]. One review states cancellation takes effect at the end of the current cycle with no prorated refunds for partial months [18]. No refund policy or money-back guarantee is published according to one source [33], while another claims a 30-day guarantee on annual plans [18]. Buyers should obtain refund terms in writing before prepaying annually.

Best Suited For

Questions explored

  • Who gets the most value from Moosend as a small business email marketing platform?
  • Is Moosend a good fit for newsletter publishers and service businesses with clean opt-in lists?

Moosend fits Small Businesses with roughly 500 to 25,000 active subscribers that want capable email automation at a low starting price [5].

The strongest fits described across platforms are newsletter publishers and bloggers on tight budgets, small service businesses under 50 employees with clean opt-in lists, budget-conscious marketers prioritizing automation over premium template design, and teams that want unlimited sends with predictable contact-based pricing [31]. Seasonal senders may value the account pause capability, though one source notes a paused account continues billing [33].

E-commerce and service businesses comfortable with contact-based billing are also listed as appropriate, provided they do not need transactional email on the base plan [9].

Probably Not Best Suited For

Questions explored

  • Who should not choose Moosend for small business email marketing?
  • Is Moosend unsuitable for e-commerce stores that need order confirmation emails?

Several buyer profiles are poorly matched. Businesses that need a permanent free plan should look elsewhere, since Moosend offers only a 30-day trial and no permanent free tier was verified [57].

E-commerce stores requiring transactional email on the base plan are a poor fit, because order confirmations, receipts, and password resets require the custom-priced Moosend+ tier or Enterprise package [65].

Businesses with existing list quality problems or high bounce rates carry elevated risk, given reports of account suspension without warning for list quality or compliance concerns and no refunds for unused prepaid periods after termination [24].

Buyers needing guaranteed refunds, 24/7 support, advanced HTML/CSS customization, more than 5 user seats on Pro, or a broad native integration ecosystem are also flagged as poor fits [33].

When Another Option May Be Better

Questions explored

  • What is a better alternative to Moosend for a small business that needs a permanent free plan?
  • When should a buyer choose ActiveCampaign, Brevo, or MailerLite over Moosend?

Platforms named specific alternatives for specific buyer situations. MailerLite or Brevo were suggested when a permanent free tier matters more than automation depth [9]. Mailchimp was suggested for better templates and a permanent free tier [31].

ActiveCampaign was suggested when advanced branching automation, lead scoring, CRM connectivity, and sales workflows justify higher cost, and when a clearer refund policy matters [9]. HubSpot and ActiveCampaign were named for around-the-clock support needs [31].

Brevo was suggested when transactional emails on standard plans and 24/7 support are priorities [31]. Omnisend or Klaviyo were suggested when SMS, store-specific workflows, and e-commerce reporting are central [9].

For buyers who need deeper automation, CRM-grade segmentation, or extensive integrations, the reviewed evidence points away from Moosend and toward higher-tier suites [4].

Questions to ask before choosing a provider

Questions explored

  • What should a buyer confirm with Moosend before signing up for the Pro plan?
  • How can a small business verify Moosend's current pricing and cancellation terms before paying?

The reviewed evidence leaves several items unresolved. Buyers should confirm each of the following directly with Moosend before committing.

  • What is the exact United States price for 500, 1,000, 2,000, and 5,000 active subscribers under monthly and annual billing [12]?
  • Is a Starter Plan currently offered, and how does it differ from Pro in automation, support, branding, reporting, and sending limits [6]?
  • Does the 30-day trial automatically convert, and what are the cancellation, refund, renewal, and downgrade rules [60]?
  • Are inactive contacts excluded from billing, and how are duplicate addresses across lists counted [2]?
  • What happens when the account exceeds its active-subscriber limit, and what credit charges apply [2]?
  • Which integrations are native versus dependent on Zapier or custom API work [47]?
  • What deliverability onboarding, authentication setup, suppression handling, and sender-reputation support are included [7]?
  • Is migration assistance included, and are there limits on imported contacts or historical data [9]?
  • Are transactional email, SMTP, advanced reports, or other advertised capabilities included in Pro or sold separately [65]?
  • What are the exact refund terms for annual prepayment, in writing [33]?

The consensus assessment

Moosend is a good, conditional fit for a small United States business buying its first serious email marketing platform. Three of seven platforms named it during ranking discovery, with an average listed rank of 5.0 and a best rank of 3. The Moosend Pro Plan's published $9-per-month entry price for 500 subscribers with unlimited sends, visual automation, segmentation, templates, and live chat support gives it a credible case for budget-conscious buyers who want more than a bare newsletter tool.

The purchase should remain conditional. Transactional email is not included on Pro. No permanent free plan was verified. Refund and cancellation terms are unpublished or conflicting across sources. Deliverability claims conflict with independent testing. Account suspension risk for list quality issues is reported but unquantified. Buyers should use the 30-day trial, confirm current United States pricing and plan names at checkout, and obtain refund terms in writing before prepaying annually.

How This Review Was Produced

This review evaluates Moosend only for the small business email marketing platform use case, not as a broad company assessment. It draws on structured fit-research responses from seven AI platforms: ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Grok, Kimi, DeepSeek, and Perplexity. Each platform was asked which providers it would recommend for a small business owner with under 50 employees who wants one platform to plan, send, and automate email campaigns and simple lifecycle sequences.

Ranking statistics reflect how many platforms named Moosend during the ranking stage and at what position. Fit findings reflect each platform's use-case assessment across ease of use, pricing for small lists, template quality, basic automation workflows, customer support, and deliverability. Company-owned sources are distinguished from independent sources throughout, and platform-reported claims are labeled where independent verification was not supplied.

Research limitations

Several limitations apply. Platform-reported research dates differ from the authoritative run date of 2026-10-01; DeepSeek's research date is 2026-06-08, and platform-reported dates are provenance metadata that do not independently prove freshness. Deepseek's research was conducted without search enabled, so its claims require explicit verification before being treated as current facts.

The supplied URLs were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated by the writer stage. Citations are platform-reported evidence, not independently verified facts. Where platforms disagreed on pricing, plan names, ownership, or deliverability, this review describes the conflict rather than resolving it.

Official-site retrieval for Moosend returned excerpts marked retrieved but not verified, and one retrieved pricing page used a regional URL that may not reflect current United States checkout pricing. No current independent inbox-placement benchmark sufficient to guarantee deliverability for a particular sender was verified. Agreement among AI platforms does not prove product quality.

Explore more marketing automation and email marketing software guidance in the category directory.

Sources

Company-Owned Sources

  1. 14 Cheap Email Marketing Tools For 2026: https://moosend.com/blog/cheap-email-marketing/
  2. Email Marketing Automation Best Practices for 2026: https://moosend.com/blog/email-marketing-automation-best-practices/
  3. Deliverability Standards: https://moosend.com/deliverability/
  4. Email Marketing and Marketing Automation Platform: https://moosend.com/email-marketing/
  5. Top of the Line Marketing Automation Features - Moosend: https://moosend.com/marketing-automation/

Independent Sources

  1. Moosend Pricing Breakdown: Every Plan Compared for 2026: https://aeroleads.com/blog/moosend-pricing-breakdown-plan-compared-2026/
  2. Moosend Features, Reviews & Pricing: Is This Email Marketing & Automation Platform Worth It?: https://ampifire.com/blog/moosend-features-reviews-pricing-is-this-email-marketing-automation-platform-worth-it/
  3. ActiveCampaign - Review 2026 - PCMag Australia: https://au.pcmag.com/email-marketing/47993/activecampaign
  4. Moosend Review 2025: Features, Pros & Cons, and Analysis: https://campaignrefinery.com/moosend-review/
  5. Moosend Pricing 2026: Plans, Costs & Real ROI: https://checkthat.ai/brands/moosend/pricing
  6. Moosend Pricing 2026: Free Trial + Pro Plans from $9/mo: https://comparedge.com/tools/moosend/pricing
  7. Moosend: 4 Hidden Costs Beyond the Price Tag (2026: https://costbench.com/software/email-marketing/moosend/hidden-costs/
  8. Moosend review 2026 by EmailDeliverabilityReport: https://emaildeliverabilityreport.com/en/review/moosend
  9. Email Marketing Tools Comparison 2026: GetResponse vs Mailchimp vs ActiveCampaign vs ConvertKit: https://emailsequenceai.com/blog/email-marketing-tools-comparison-2026
  10. Moosend Pricing 2026: Which Plan is Best Value for Money?: https://encharge.io/moosend-pricing/
  11. Mailchimp Review 2026: Pricing, The Dead List Tax & Verdict: https://getomnichannel.com/omnichannel-platforms/mailchimp-review/
  12. How Much Does Moosend Cost? 2026 Pricing, Plans, Real Cost: https://hackceleration.com/labs/moosend-pricing
  13. Moosend Review 2026: Honest Verdict + 15 Real User Reviews: https://hackceleration.com/labs/review/moosend
  14. Moosend Review (2026) - MakerStack: https://makerstack.co/reviews/moosend-review/
  15. Moosend Pricing 2026: Plans From $9/mo: https://smtpedia.com/platforms/moosend/pricing/
  16. Moosend Review 2026: 7.2/10, Sold Twice in Four Years: https://smtpedia.com/platforms/moosend/review/
  17. MailerLite Review 2026: Is It the Best Email Tool Under $20/Month?: https://techsifted.com/reviews/mailerlite-review-2026/
  18. Moosend pricing for 2026: every plan and tier, monthly and annual cost, free plan, and contact limits: https://toolfit.io/email-marketing/moosend-pricing/
  19. Brevo Review 2026: Is It the Best? Tested: https://tooltrusted.com/brevo-review-2026/
  20. Moosend Review 2025 - Features, Pricing & Alternatives: https://workflowautomation.net/reviews/moosend
  21. Moosend Reviews 2026. Verified Reviews, Pros & Cons: https://www.capterra.com/p/147042/Moosend/reviews/
  22. Moosend - Email Platform Review: https://www.emailplatformreview.com/esp/moosend/
  23. Moosend Review (2025): Worth Your Money?: https://www.emailsoftwareinsights.com/reviews/moosend/
  24. Moosend Review 2026 - Pros & Cons, Pricing and more: https://www.emailtooltester.com/en/reviews/moosend/
  25. Moosend Pricing 2026: It’s cheap, but is it good value?: https://www.emailvendorselection.com/moosend-pricing/
  26. Moosend Review 2026: Is this THE email tool for you?: https://www.emailvendorselection.com/moosend-review/
  27. Moosend Review (2026): Is It Still Worth It?: https://www.omnisend.com/blog/moosend-review/

TRANSPARENCY BY DESIGN

The evidence behind this study

Research is a dated snapshot of AI recommendations and their supporting sources. Use the original evidence and methodology to understand what these findings can and cannot tell you.

Independent source records
50
Provider-owned source records
17
Direct support records
51

AI platforms in the study

ChatGPTClaudeDeepSeekGrokPerplexityKimiGemini

Study limitations

  • The study date identifies this research snapshot; dates reported by AI platforms do not independently establish source freshness.
  • Recommendation counts measure mentions during the ranking stage. Later fit assessments do not increase those counts.
  • Product names, costs, and features can differ across sources. Confirm conflicting details directly with the provider.
  • Source URLs came from AI platform responses and were not independently validated during report preparation.
  • Some dates reported by AI platforms differ from the study date. Those dates do not independently establish that the information is current.
  • The study evidence includes provider identity and qualification notes. Check those notes and confirm service requirements with the provider.

Affiliate & commercial disclosure

We may receive compensation when you follow certain links, subscribe to a software plan, or take another qualifying action through a commercial partner. These relationships create a potential financial conflict, but do not influence recorded AI recommendations or ranking calculations. Partner availability, pricing, features, and service terms can vary.

Read the full Affiliate Disclosure for compensation, tracking, partner availability, and research independence details, or contact us with a disclosure question.

Verify the source snapshot

SHA-256: 2dd215e108214575be01622cac7912c9fb5099c17bbb53d5a1cfd2115891f180