The research in brief
Digits is a qualified but contested fit for multi-client bookkeeping firm software. Two of seven platforms named Digits during the ranking stage, at an average listed rank of 5.0 (best rank 3, worst 7). Its strongest case is an AI-native general ledger with a firm dashboard, Firm Models, per-client wholesale pricing, and free firm books through the Digits Accountant Partner Program. The main limitation is architectural: independent sources state Digits requires a separate instance per client with no unified cross-client exception dashboard, and it requires migrating clients off QuickBooks Online. Platform fit ratings ranged from weak to strong, so buyers should validate dashboard scope, migration cost, and firm pricing in writing before committing a large client book.
Research Snapshot
| Field | Finding |
|---|---|
| Platform mentions in ranking stage | 2 of 7 platforms (Gemini, Perplexity) |
| Share of included platform responses | 28.6% |
| Average listed rank | 5.0 |
| Best listed rank | 3 (Gemini) |
| Software offering | Digits Accountant Firm Plan and Digits Accountant Partner Program |
| Overall use-case fit | Mixed to good; platform ratings ranged from weak (Kimi) to strong (Grok) |
| Research date | 2026-10-02 |
Why Digits Qualified for This Study
Questions explored
- Why did Digits qualify for a multi-client bookkeeping firm software study when only two platforms named it?
- Is Digits a legitimate contender for bookkeeping firms managing many client books, or a marginal mention?
Digits qualified because it cleared the study's minimum-mention threshold and because the platforms that did name it treated it as a firm-oriented product, not a generic small-business ledger. Two of seven platforms named Digits during ranking discovery, giving it a 28.6% share of included platform responses, an average listed rank of 5.0, and a best listed rank of 3 (Gemini). Perplexity listed it at rank 7.
Qualification is not the same as consensus. All seven platforms evaluated Digits for fit, but only Gemini and Perplexity surfaced it in the ranking stage. The other five platforms produced fit assessments without naming Digits in their ranked recommendations, which is why the mention count is low relative to the platform count.
The entity itself is a U.S.-only, AI-native accounting platform with a dedicated accountant program. Digits states its services are currently available only to U.S.-based entities, matching the study's geography [7]. Its firm-facing offering includes a Firm Dashboard, firm roles and permissions, central billing, and client-level plan selection [9].
One qualification caveat must be disclosed: the deterministic identity audit notes that official-site retrieval failed for one or more mentions during normalization, and that a product-labeled company mention was merged using matching company-name and supplied-domain signatures. Some identity details therefore rest on the cited pages that were successfully retrieved rather than on a complete site crawl.
The software offering in focus
Questions explored
- Which Digits plan should a bookkeeping firm choose if it manages up to 50 clients versus 500 or more?
- Is the Digits Accountant Partner Program the right entry point for a firm that wants firm-level pricing and a client dashboard?
The relevant offering is the Digits Accountant Partner Program, which gates the firm-specific plans, dashboard, and pricing. Digits directs accounting firms to partner-only plans rather than the public business tiers [7]. Independent coverage describes Accountant Firm Plans tiered by firm size: Solo Practice (up to 50 clients) from roughly $35 per client per month, Mid-sized Firm (50+ clients) from roughly $50 per client per month, and Enterprise (500+ clients) at custom pricing [20].
Grok's assessment names a "Core for Firms" plan at $100 per month per client alongside a Starter for Firms tier at $35 and a Tax Only tier at $25 [14]. These tier names do not match the Solo Practice / Mid-sized / Enterprise naming used elsewhere, and the supplied evidence does not reconcile them. Buyers should treat the tier labels as unsettled and confirm the exact plan name, price, and client-count band in writing.
The Partner Program also includes free Digits access for the firm's own books [11], certification and training, migration support, and a directory listing [12]. Independent reporting states more than 700 accounting firms applied to the program after the Autonomous General Ledger launch [19].
Entry is not automatic. Public partner instructions describe an application, a welcome call, adding two active clients billed through Digits, and completing certification within 30 days [15].
What the AI Platforms Agreed About
Questions explored
- What do AI platforms agree Digits does well for a bookkeeping firm managing multiple clients?
- Does Digits offer firm-level pricing and a centralized dashboard for accounting practices?
Platforms broadly agreed on four points, though the strength of agreement varied.
First, Digits is an AI-native general ledger with heavy automation. Multiple platforms describe autonomous categorization, reconciliation, and close workflows, with AI agents covering bookkeeping, reconciliation, quality review, and reporting [17]. Digits' own materials describe an Agentic Close that collects transactions and documents, categorizes, reconciles, schedules, reviews, and reports continuously across every client [3].
Second, a firm dashboard exists. Digits states the Partner Program includes a Firm Dashboard for centralized client activity with real-time visibility and staff access controls [12]. OpenAI's assessment describes a firm dashboard showing client statuses, tasks, and activity, plus a Firm Close Tracker and a firm performance dashboard [9].
Third, firm-level pricing and discounts exist in some form. Digits advertises free firm books, exclusive partner plans, and discounts that increase with firm growth [7]. Independent coverage documents partner discounts of Silver 10%, Gold 15%, Platinum 20%, and Elite 25% [18]. Grok reports discounts up to 25% at the Elite tier [14].
Fourth, Digits is U.S.-only. This was consistent across platforms and matches the study geography [7].
Agreement here reflects shared source material more than independent verification. Several platforms drew on the same company pages and press releases, and third-party coverage of Firm Models largely repeats company release language [36].
Where the AI Platforms Disagreed or Were Uncertain
The sharpest disagreement concerns whether Digits has a genuine multi-client dashboard. This is the single most consequential conflict in the evidence.
Digits' marketing describes a Firm Dashboard with "centralized client activity with real-time visibility" [12]. Independent sources contradict the implication of unified cross-client management. One independent review states that firms on Digits must open a separate Digits instance per client, with no aggregate view of which clients are behind, no cross-client exception dashboard, and no consolidated status visibility [33]. Anthropic's own assessment labels this a material distinction and rates overall fit as mixed.
Platform fit ratings diverged widely: Grok rated Digits a strong fit, Gemini, ChatGPT, and Perplexity rated it good, Claude and DeepSeek rated it mixed, and Kimi rated it weak. Kimi's assessment is the most negative, arguing that Digits' original architecture was single-entity focused, that it forces a QuickBooks Online migration, and that its standalone product direction is unclear following the 2023 BILL acquisition [21]. That acquisition claim is platform-reported and not corroborated elsewhere in the supplied evidence.
Pricing is a second unresolved area. The public pricing page lists Essentials at $65 per month, Core at $100 per month, and Pro at $250 per month, with Pro marked coming soon [7]. Firm-plan pricing is described separately and not published in amounts [7]. Digits also markets an outcome-based pricing model announced in April 2026, tied to a 95% zero-touch threshold, but the reviewed materials do not state how it coexists with subscription pricing or which firms qualify [6].
A third conflict involves historical positioning. One older source describes Digits as sitting on top of an existing QuickBooks instance, while current documentation describes Digits as replacing QuickBooks as a standalone ledger [20]. Google's assessment notes the same transition and warns that historical sources still describe Digits as an add-on, which can confuse transitioning firms [25].
Practice-management depth is uncertain rather than disputed. No platform produced verified evidence that Digits replaces a full practice-management suite with CRM, time billing, engagement letters, or tax workflow [7]. Batch workflows across clients are similarly undocumented in the checked sources [12].
Features for this workload
Questions explored
- Does Digits provide batch workflows across multiple clients, or only per-client automation?
- How does Digits handle client collaboration and data sharing for an outsourced bookkeeping firm?
Capability evidence is strongest for automation and weakest for cross-client batch operations.
| Criterion | Assessment | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
Multi-client management dashboard | Disputed | |
Practice management tools | Unclear | |
Client collaboration and data sharing | Partial | |
Batch workflows across clients | Unclear | |
Firm-level pricing and accountant discounts | Advantage, amounts undisclosed |
On automation, Digits advertises 24/7 AI bookkeeping and reconciliation, bank, card, and payroll connections, automated schedules, quality checks, bill pay, invoicing, and financial statements [7]. Independent coverage reports a self-reported auto-booking rate above 95% and a three-layer categorization model that draws on client history, firm history, and cross-user patterns [23]. These are vendor-reported figures.
Firm Models are the firm-specific differentiator: a private model trained on the firm's own client base, available only through the Partner Program [5]. The exact customization scope is described in marketing but not independently verified [20].
On collaboration, Digits lists threaded collaboration, a centralized Vault for statements, receipts, and contracts, unlimited users, client access controls, custom reports, and scheduled client-ready reporting with firm branding [3]. Anthropic's assessment notes collaboration is supported per client instance, with no evidence of firm-to-client shared workspaces or approval workflows tailored to outsourced bookkeeping [20].
On batch operations, the evidence does not support a firm-wide bulk-action claim. Digits describes firm-wide close tracking and firm models that apply accounting patterns across the book of business [3], and Grok describes Agentic Close and automated schedules running firm-wide [14]. Perplexity and Anthropic both state that batch processing across multiple clients is not verified in the checked sources [12].
Pricing, renewal terms, and ongoing costs
Questions explored
- How much does the Digits Accountant Firm Plan cost per client, and is the price published anywhere?
- What are the cancellation, commitment, and data-export terms for a firm leaving Digits?
Firm-plan pricing is not publicly disclosed in amounts, and this is the clearest commercial gap in the evidence. Digits publishes standard business pricing but directs accounting firms to partner-only plans without publishing their rates [7].
Known public business pricing: Essentials $65 per month, Core $100 per month, and Pro $250 per month, with Pro marked coming soon [7]. Each separate business or location requires its own Digits subscription, and applicable sales tax may be added [7].
Firm pricing as reported by platforms, with confidence caveats:
| Source | Reported firm pricing | Confidence |
|---|---|---|
Anthropic | Solo Practice $35/client/mo (up to 50 clients); Mid-sized $50/client/mo (50+); Enterprise custom (500+) | Moderate |
Google | Solo Practice from ~$35/client/mo (up to 50 clients); Mid-sized 50+; Enterprise 500+ | High (platform-stated) |
Grok | Starter for Firms $35/mo; Core for Firms $100/mo; Tax Only $25/mo; discounts up to 25% | Moderate |
Perplexity | Partner Program free to join; discounted pricing as client base grows; exact rates unclear | Low |
OpenAI | Partner plans and discounts advertised but not quantified | Moderate |
These tier names and figures do not fully reconcile across platforms, and the supplied evidence does not resolve the conflict. Treat every number as requiring written confirmation.
Additional fees and limits: Bill Pay ACH transactions are reported at $0.50 each and checks at $2 each [23]. Perplexity states discounts do not apply to Digits Bill Pay, Invoicing, or non-core plans, and that client-paid subscriptions do not count for discount application even if they count toward tier progress [15]. Firm Signature branding is described as a premium add-on with unspecified pricing [20]. No setup fee is publicly stated [7].
Contract and cancellation terms are thin. Digits says plans may be upgraded or downgraded [7]. Public help material references a process for removing clients or cancelling a firm account, but the associated commercial terms are not stated [9]. Perplexity found no verified public cancellation term or minimum contract length, and notes one firm-plan help page mentions an annual commitment for custom outcome-based pricing without clarifying applicability [15]. Grok states the Partner Program requires application, certification, and minimum clients, subject to a Partner Addendum [14].
Outcome-based pricing, announced April 2026, would charge only when Digits auto-handles 95% or more of a client's transactions touch-free [6]. Eligibility criteria, measurement period, exclusions, and rollout status are not documented in the reviewed sources as of the research date.
Best Suited For
Questions explored
- Is Digits a good choice for a small U.S. bookkeeping firm with standardized monthly-close clients?
- Which type of bookkeeping practice gets the most value from Digits Firm Models and the Partner Program?
Digits is best suited to U.S. bookkeeping firms with relatively standardized, small-business client books who are willing to standardize on Digits and migrate off legacy ledgers. OpenAI's assessment lists firms serving many small or startup clients with standardized monthly-close workflows, firms seeking continuous AI categorization and reconciliation across clients, and firms willing to standardize client work on Digits [7].
Google's assessment points to firms serving startups and digital service businesses with integrated banking and software stacks, and practices shifting from manual transaction coding to exception-based review [25]. Grok frames the fit as U.S. firms prioritizing AI automation, firm-level AI models, and portfolio visibility [5].
Anthropic narrows the sweet spot further: small firms of up to 50 clients willing to migrate, and solo practitioners with one to five clients wanting advanced automation with firm-specific AI customization [20].
Common threads across platforms: U.S.-only client base, willingness to migrate, appetite for automation over manual coding, and comfort with a newer vendor.
Probably Not Best Suited For
Questions explored
- Who should not choose Digits for multi-client bookkeeping firm software?
- Is Digits a poor fit for a firm with 50 or more clients that needs cross-client exception visibility?
Firms needing unified cross-client visibility should not choose Digits without validating the dashboard in a pilot. Independent sources state that firms must open a separate instance per client with no aggregate view of who is behind and no cross-client exception dashboard [33]. Anthropic explicitly lists mid-to-large firms with 50 or more clients as probably not best suited.
Firms with international or multi-currency clients are also poor fits. Digits is U.S.-only at every layer, and multi-currency support is gated behind the higher-priced Pro tier [34]. Firms with UK, Australian, Canadian, or EU clients cannot use Digits for those clients [20].
Firms that cannot absorb a full ledger migration should be cautious. Digits replaces QuickBooks Online rather than operating on top of it, and QuickBooks compatibility is a one-time historical import at cutover, not an ongoing two-way sync [20]. Kimi's assessment states this migration requirement is a fundamental conflict for firms wanting to preserve client QuickBooks files [21].
Firms requiring mature practice management, deep inventory or manufacturing accounting, or fully published firm pricing are also flagged as poor fits across multiple platforms [7].
When Another Option May Be Better
Questions explored
- What is a better alternative to Digits for a firm that needs a true unified multi-client dashboard?
- When should a bookkeeping firm choose a QuickBooks-based or flat-rate platform instead of Digits?
Consider another option when unified multi-client management is the primary requirement. Independent sources recommend purpose-built firm platforms such as Finlens for firms needing a centralized multi-client dashboard with cross-client exception visibility [33]. Anthropic states that for practices with 50 or more clients, international exposure, or QuickBooks dependence, purpose-built firm platforms are a stronger fit.
Consider another option when clients must stay on QuickBooks Online or Xero. Kimi's assessment names Zera Books, Growthy, and LedgerFlex as alternatives for firms that need to keep clients on existing ledgers, including a flat-rate unlimited-client option and a purpose-built multi-client general ledger [21].
Consider another option when the firm needs mature practice management, extensive third-party integrations, or a long track record. OpenAI, DeepSeek, and Anthropic all flag established suites as better fits for firms requiring CRM, time billing, workflow, document management, tax, and audit operations in one system [7].
Consider another option when predictable published firm pricing is a procurement requirement. Multiple platforms note that Digits' firm pricing requires a sales conversation [7].
Consider another option when clients have complex inventory, manufacturing, or multi-entity consolidation needs. Google and Grok both flag these as outside Digits' documented scope [25].
Questions to ask before choosing a provider
Questions explored
- What should a buyer confirm with Digits before signing a firm contract?
- How can a firm verify Digits' dashboard scope and migration cost before committing?
The following questions are drawn from the platform-supplied verification lists and should be answered in writing before signing.
Dashboard and workflow scope: What is the exact scope and user interface of the Firm Dashboard? Does it provide cross-client exception reporting and consolidated close tracking, or only per-client switching and open-item viewing [20]? How many separate Digits instances must a firm manage for 50 or more clients, and is there any unified view [33]? Can batch workflows or bulk operations be applied across multiple clients simultaneously [12]?
Pricing and contract terms: What is the exact Accountant Firm Plan price, discount schedule, minimum client count, and pricing basis [7]? Does the firm pay for every client subscription, and are inactive, seasonal, or archived clients billed [7]? How does outcome-based pricing work in practice, including the 95% zero-touch threshold, measurement period, exclusions, and dispute process [6]? What are the annual commitment, renewal, notice, refund, and termination terms [15]?
Migration and data: What are the time, cost, and resource requirements for migrating 20 to 50 existing QuickBooks clients [20]? How are client data ownership, export formats, historical transactions, attachments, audit trails, and retention handled after cancellation [7]?
Automation and oversight: Which accounting judgments remain subject to human review, and how are AI changes approved, reversed, and documented [7]? What does Firm Models actually customize, and does it apply firm-wide rules or only learn per-client patterns [20]?
Integrations and support: Which integrations are supported for the firm's actual client industries, payroll systems, point-of-sale systems, ecommerce platforms, and expense tools [7]? What service-level, support-response, onboarding, migration, and escalation commitments are included [7]? What independent references can Digits provide from firms with a similar number and mix of clients [7]?
The consensus assessment
Digits is a qualified fit for multi-client bookkeeping firm software, with meaningful commercial and architectural uncertainty. Two of seven platforms named it during ranking, at an average listed rank of 5.0 and a best rank of 3. Platform fit ratings ranged from weak to strong, with three platforms rating it good, two mixed, one strong, and one weak.
The strongest case for Digits is automation depth combined with a firm-oriented program: an AI-native general ledger, Firm Models trained on the firm's own client base, a Firm Dashboard, unlimited team seats, per-client wholesale pricing, and free firm books [3]. The strongest case against is the disputed dashboard architecture and the migration requirement. Independent sources state firms must open a separate instance per client with no cross-client exception dashboard, and that Digits replaces QuickBooks Online rather than layering on top of it [33].
AI-platform agreement does not prove product quality. Much of the positive evidence traces to company-owned pages and press releases, and vendor-reported figures such as the 95% auto-booking rate and six-hours-per-client savings are not independently verified [6].
For a U.S. firm with standardized small-business clients, a willingness to migrate, and an appetite for automation, Digits is worth a structured pilot. For a firm with 50 or more clients, international exposure, QuickBooks dependence, or a procurement requirement for published firm pricing, the evidence points toward purpose-built alternatives. Buyers should require a written firm-plan quote, detailed contract terms, integration validation, migration testing, and references from comparable firms before committing a large client book.
How This Review Was Produced
This review evaluates Digits only for the multi-client bookkeeping firm software use case. It is not a broad company review.
Seven AI platforms evaluated Digits against five category criteria: multi-client management dashboard, practice management tools, client collaboration and data sharing, batch workflows across clients, and firm-level pricing and accountant discounts. Two platforms named Digits during ranking discovery; all seven produced fit assessments. Platform fit ratings were: Grok strong; Gemini, ChatGPT, and Perplexity good; Claude and DeepSeek mixed; Kimi weak.
Evidence was drawn from company-owned pages, independent reviews, directories, and journalism. Company-owned sources describe intended capability; independent sources were weighted more heavily where they conflicted with marketing claims, particularly on dashboard scope. Vendor-reported performance figures are labeled as such throughout.
The study research date is 2026-10-02. Platform-reported research dates are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.
Research limitations
Several limitations constrain this review.
Platform-reported research dates differ from the authoritative run date. DeepSeek's assessment is dated 2026-06-13, while the run research date is 2026-10-02. DeepSeek also ran with search disabled, so its findings are model-reported rather than retrieved.
Official-site retrieval failed for one or more mentions during normalization, and a product-labeled company mention was merged using matching company-name and supplied-domain signatures. Some identity details rest on the cited pages that were retrieved rather than a complete site crawl.
The supplied URLs were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated by the writer stage. Citations are platform-reported evidence, not independently verified facts.
Material conflicts were preserved rather than resolved. Firm-plan tier names and prices do not reconcile across platforms. The Firm Dashboard's scope is described differently by company marketing and independent sources. Digits' historical positioning as a QuickBooks overlay conflicts with current documentation describing a standalone ledger. The BILL acquisition claim appears in only one platform's assessment and is not corroborated elsewhere in the supplied evidence.
Missing research is not disagreement. Where platforms did not address a criterion, this review states that evidence is unclear rather than treating silence as a negative finding.
Vendor-reported figures, including automation rates, time savings, and partner outcomes, are not independent evidence and should be validated in a pilot.
See the broader Bookkeepers and Accounting Firms Managing Multiple Clients consensus index for comparisons across qualified options.
Explore more accounting and financial management software guidance in the category directory.
Sources
Company-Owned Sources
- Digits Accountant Directory: https://accountants.digits.com/
- Digits - Official Website: https://digits.com/
- Digits for Firms - AI-Native Accounting Software: https://digits.com/accountants/
- Firm Models Are Here: Exclusive to the Digits Accountant Partner Program: https://digits.com/blog/firm-models-are-here-exclusive-to-the-digits-accountant-partner-program/
- Firm Models Are Here: Exclusive to the Digits Accountant Partner Program: https://digits.com/blog/firm-models-are-here-exclusive-to-the-digits-accounting-partner-program/
- Introducing Outcome-Based Pricing for Accounting Firms: https://digits.com/blog/outcome-based-pricing/
- Digits - Pricing: https://digits.com/pricing/
- Find a Digits Accounting Firm - For Business Owners: https://help.digits.com/business-getting-started/accountant-directory
- My Firm Account: https://help.digits.com/my-firm-account
- Digits for Firms Plans | My Firm Account | Digits Help Center: https://help.digits.com/my-firm-account/firm-plans
- Free Books for Your Firm: https://help.digits.com/my-firm-account/free-books
- Digits Accountant Partner Program - Overview: https://help.digits.com/my-firm-account/partner-program
- Digits Partner Plans | Digits Help Center: https://help.digits.com/my-firm-account/partner-program-plans
- Digits Partner Program Plans: https://help.digits.com/my-firm-account/partner-program-plans.md
- Digits Accountant Partner Program: https://help.digits.com/support/solutions/articles/151000217545-digits-accountant-partner-program
Independent Sources
- Digits - AI Agent: https://aiagentstore.ai/ai-agent/digits
- Advisor Alliance: Digits Accountant Partner Program: https://blog.insightfulaccountant.com/advisor-alliance-digits-accountant-partner-program
- Digits launches AI Agents for its Autonomous General Ledger: https://blog.insightfulaccountant.com/digits-launches-ai-agents-for-its-autonomous-general-ledger
- Digits: 2026 Pricing, Features, Pros and Cons: https://curatesuite.com/accounting/tools/digits
- AI Bookkeeping for CPA Firms - Scale Advisory Without Hiring: https://growthy.com/for-accountants
- Digits Agentic Close for Firms: https://my-cpe.com/insights/news-and-insights/technology/digits-introduces-agentic-close-for-continuous-accounting
- Digits Review (2025): An AI-Native Accounting Platform That Actually Feels Crisp: https://thedigitalmerchant.com/digits-review/
- How AI-Powered Digits Provide Real-Time Finance Clarity for Small Businesses: https://vertexaisearch.cloud.google.com/grounding-api-redirect/AUZIYQGMvKsFtNnEHj-Tl54hv8mt7f1VuGhASFAdAc9-hja1ulV1hdC6s97HpcYaR0UwOeg5ZMSnsg9SO2QSUpUKTIfqgxuUOFNukZN08k1CI0FnAu0eGtoyvhKC3i2qPYhvZHii
- Digits Review 2026: https://www.auditfriendly.co/software/digits
- BILL Acquires Digits to Expand AI-Powered Financial Operations: https://www.bill.com/press-releases/bill-acquires-digits
- Digits Unveils Firm-Specific AI Models, New Accountant Partner Program: https://www.cpapracticeadvisor.com/2025/10/01/digits-unveils-firm-specific-ai-models-new-accounting-partner-program/170047/
- Digits Announces Outcome-Based Pricing for Accounting Firms: https://www.cpapracticeadvisor.com/2026/04/07/digits-announces-outcome-based-pricing-for-accounting-firms/181110/
- Digits vs Kick for AI Bookkeeping in 2026: https://www.finlens.app/blogs/digits-vs-kick-ai-bookkeeping-2026
- Digits Review (2026): Pricing, Pros & Cons: https://www.itechguides.com/products/digits/
Other Sources
- Digits Launches Proprietary Firm Models, Available Exclusively Through Accountant Partner Program: https://finance.yahoo.com/news/digits-launches-proprietary-firm-models-135000059.html
- Digits Launches Proprietary Firm Models, Available - GlobeNewswire: https://www.globenewswire.com/news-release/2025/09/30/3158740/0/en/digits-launches-proprietary-firm-models-available-exclusively-through-accountant-partner-program.html